#### I Mina' Trentai Dos Na Liheslaturan Guåhan Resolutions Log Sheet

Resolution	Canana	Title	Date Intro	Date of	Date	Committee /	Date Adopted
No.	Sponsor	Title		Presentation	Referred	Ofc Referred	
3-32 (COR)	Judith T. Won Pat,	Relative to Commending and Congratulating the Guam Business	01/09/2013,	01/12/2013,			1/11/2013
	Ed.D., B.J.F. Cruz	Magazine Executive of the Year and Guam Business Magazine	9:12am	7:30pm			
		celebrating their 30 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary					

# COMMITTEE ON RULES

SENATOR RORY J. RESPICIO

I Mina'trentai Dos na Liheslaturan Guåhan • 32ND Guam Legislature www.guamlegislature.com • 155 Hesler Place, Hagatña, Guam 96910 www.roryforguam.com • email: roryforguam@gmail.com • Tel: (671)472-7679 • Fax: (671)472-3547

201

то

ABSTAIN

TO NOT

ADOPT

TO ADOPT

### **VOTING SHEET**

Resolution No. 3-32 (COR) – Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D., B.J.F. Cruz - "Relative to recognizing and commending the Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year; and to further congratulating the Guam Business Magazine on the celebration of its Thirtieth (30<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary."

DATE

**SIGNATURE** 

Chairperson							
SENATOR THOMAS C. ADA							
Vice-Chairperson		1.1.0					
-		111/13	E-MMLED				
SPEAKER JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed,D.							
Member		11113	E-HAILED				
		11.1.7	e meet)				
VICE-SPEAKER BENJAMIN J.F. CRUZ			V				
Member		111113					
LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY		111115	E-MAILED				
TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES		.1.	V		1		
Member		1111/13	E-MAILED				
SENATOR VICENTE (Ben) C.	·						
PANGELINAN							
Member							
SENATOR DENNIS G. RODRIGUEZ,							
JR.							
Member SENATOR FRANK BLAS AGUON, JR.			<del> </del>				
Member			-				
		1/11/13	E-MILLED				
SENATOR MICHAEL F.Q. SAN NICOLAS		f i					
Member	(w)	111113					
SENATOR V. ANTHONY ADA			,				
Minority Member		111113	E-MAILLEI)				
		,					
SENATOR ALINE YAMASHITA							
Minority Member							
		L					
For Sponsor's Office Use Only							
Sponsor Signature:							
Staff Contact Person: D Po Fram							
Date: 110113					<del> </del>		
				***************************************			
For COR/Clerk's Office Use Only		441					
10 /81/		<u>LAL</u> Certifi	ied	Return	ied		
Name: (Dayne Ulloq Date: 01/11/13		/					
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·			·····			
Notes:							

## I MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2013 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 3-32 (COR)

Introduced by: Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

B. J.F. Cruz

T. C. Ada

V. Anthony Ada

Frank Blas Aguon, Jr.

B. J.F. Cruz

Chris M. Duenas

Michael T. Limtiaco

T. R. Muña Barnes

Brant McCreadie

Thomas Morrison

V. C. Pangelinan

R. J. Respicio

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.

Michael F.Q. San Nicolas

Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.

Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to recognizing and commending the *Guam Business Magazine* Executive of the Year; and to further congratulating the *Guam Business Magazine* on the celebration of its Thirtieth (30<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I

- 2 MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- WHEREAS, on March 1, 1983, the founders first published the *Guam Business*
- 4 Magazine, a bi-monthly magazine covering in depth and detail the business news of
- 5 Guam and Micronesia; and

1 WHEREAS, the Guam Business Magazine continues capturing the pulse of Guam's vibrant and growing business community in many ways, and it provides that 2 3 information in a well-written and well-designed magazine; and WHEREAS, the Managing Director, Marcos Fong, and the Publisher, Maureen 4 5 N. Maratita, vigorously combine their efforts to maintain the reputation of the Guam Business Magazine as the recognized authority on business in Micronesia, and it 6 7 enjoys a reputation for accuracy and fairness; and 8 WHEREAS, a special recognition goes out to the well-deserving and dedicated 9 staff of Guam Business Magazine for their work; as well as to the senior members: Publisher, Maureen N. Maratita; Managing Editor, Mr. Frank Whitman; and 10 11 Production Supervisor, Ms. Nerita Enderes; and 12 WHEREAS, through its consistent editorial quality, attractive production, and 13 exciting and well-written articles, the Guam Business Magazine has set journalistic 14 standards in Micronesia, with the magazine, its writers and photographers having been recipients of numerous awards from the Guam Press Club, the Society of Professional 15 16 Journalists, the U.S. Small Business Administration, and the business community; and 17 WHEREAS, the Guam Business Magazine contributes to Guam's business 18 community and the Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross, working collaboratively with Ms. Chita A. Blaise, Chief Executive Officer, Guam Chapter of 19 20 the American Red Cross, on the annual fundraising gala for the American Red Cross. 21 Special recognition goes out to Mr. Ray Gibson, Ms. Patti Arroyo and Mr. Travis 22 Coffman of K57, for their continuous support as emcees during the gala, that includes 23 the naming of an Executive of the Year chosen from the nominees from Micronesia's 24 business community; and WHEREAS, the past winners of the prestigious Executive of the Year 25

distinction include: Mr. Robert H. Jones, 1983; Mr. John M. Borlas, 1984; Mr. Philip

26

- J. Flores, 1985; Ms. Doris Flores Brooks, 1986; Mr. Mark V. Pangilinan, 1987; Mr.
- 2 Allen A. Pickens, 1988; Mr. †T. Roy Sullivan, 1989; Mr. Kurt S. Moylan, 1990; Mr.
- 3 Akira "Mike" Baba, 1991; Mr. Paul M. Calvo, 1992; Ms. Antoinette D. Sanford,
- 4 1993; Mr. †Kenneth T. Jones, Jr., 1994; Mr. †Edward M. Calvo, 1995; Mr. L. Carl
- 5 Peterson, 1996; Mr. William R. Thompson, 1997; Mr. †John K. Lee, 1998; Mr.
- 6 †Henry L. Schnabel, 1999; Ms. Marian Aldan-Pierce, 2000; Mr. Manfred H. Pieper,
- 7 2001; Mr. Thomas G. Ahillen, 2002; Mr. Juan T. Guerrero, 2003; Mr. Joseph "Jerry"
- 8 Kramer and Mr. Joseph "Joey" Crisostomo, 2004; Mr. David M. Sablan, 2005; Mr.
- 9 Alfred C. Ysrael, 2006; Mr. Lee P. Webber, 2007; Ms. Laura-LynnV. Dacanay, 2008;
- 10 Mr. Jerry Tan, 2009; Ms. Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero, 2010; and Mr. Jay R. Shedd,
- 11 2011; and
- WHEREAS, the Guam Business Magazine, a bi-monthly magazine covering in
- depth and detail the business news of Guam and Micronesia, celebrates the Thirtieth
- 14 (30th) Guam Business Magazine Executive of the Year on January 12, 2013; and the
- 15 Thirtieth (30<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary of the *Guam Business Magazine* on March 1, 2013;
- 16 now therefore, be it
- 17 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Dos Na*
- 18 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people
- 19 of Guam, recognize and commend the Guam Business Magazine Executive of the
- 20 Year; and does further congratulate the Guam Business Magazine on the celebration
- of its Thirtieth (30<sup>th</sup>) Year Anniversary; and be it further
- RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules
- 23 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of
- 24 the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Marcos Fong, Managing Director, Guam
- 25 Business Magazine; to Maureen N. Maratita, Publisher, Guam Business; to Mr. Frank
- 26 Whitman, Managing Editor, Guam Business Magazine; to Ms. Nerita Enderes,

- 1 Production Supervisor, Guam Business Magazine; to Ms. Chita A. Blaise, Chief
- 2 Executive Officer, Guam Chapter of the American Red Cross; to Mr. Ray Gibson,
- 3 Ms. Patti Arroyo, and Mr. Travis Coffman of K57; and to the Honorable Edward J.B.
- 4 Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI DOS NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 11<sup>TH</sup> DAY OF 2013.

BENJAMIN J.F. CRUZ

**Acting Speaker** 

RORY RESPICIO

Amy & Puspi GO

Chairman, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary